PDA

View Full Version : A6E problems

Lincs_Flyer
27-11-16, 20:11 PM
I have bitten the ( expensive ) bullet and bought an Icom A6E to replace my aged A3E. I connected it to the aircraft and my Lynx system and transmitted for a radio check. Lovely. Clear as a bell! Happily I fitted the supplied CP20 charger that keeps the battery under charge while flying. I plugged it into the cigar lighter socket that the previous owner used to power his GPS from. Press transmit...........loud humming in headphones. B*&^ER!! Where do I look first please? I'm no radio expert at all! It works fine while on it's battery, but as soon as the charger is plugged in, it's a no-go.

Randombloke
27-11-16, 22:46 PM
I have bitten the ( expensive ) bullet and bought an Icom A6E to replace my aged A3E. I connected it to the aircraft and my Lynx system and transmitted for a radio check. Lovely. Clear as a bell! Happily I fitted the supplied CP20 charger that keeps the battery under charge while flying. I plugged it into the cigar lighter socket that the previous owner used to power his GPS from. Press transmit...........loud humming in headphones. B*&^ER!! Where do I look first please? I'm no radio expert at all! It works fine while on it's battery, but as soon as the charger is plugged in, it's a no-go.

What aircraft, what engine, where is the cigarette lighter fed from, is there a suppression cap in the rectifier output?

Some Garmin GPS units are very tolerant of massive voltage changes, they'll take 8 to 40V. So a working Garmin is no indicator of OK.

Was the engine running? Do you have an indicator of battery volts?

Stage 1 for me would be to run the engine and measure DC volts off the ciggie lighter. Needs to be at least 12V, ideally about 13.2V.

If that box gets ticked, then turn the voltmeter to AC and measure the ciggie lighter again, no, I'm not being silly, if there is hum then it may be due to ripple current on the DC. Ideally you want zero or very low AC.