PDA

View Full Version : Electric trim switches at the top of the stick



spuudercat
09-03-19, 22:27 PM
Ok I have an electric trim on the plane which is good, the issue I have is I would like to change the switches on the top as they are getting a little worn.

There are four switches with only the up and down working(as it doesn't actually have side trim)

Anyone got any ideas of what they are from? I get this sneaky feeling they were a mod at some point in the past

Thanks

Garry

Stubhoy
10-03-19, 01:41 AM
Ikarus c45 has trim switches on top of the stick the same as you describe, only use the up and down too but it has side switches so probably best looking for spares from there.


Ps Iím just a beginner so Iíd hang on till one of our experts helps you out better.

spuudercat
10-03-19, 09:46 AM
Hi Stubhoy

Thanks for the advice. I had my instructor send me some details as well and it does seem to be a Ikarus C42 so it wasnt newbie advice at all 😀

Garry

Gentreau
10-03-19, 12:51 PM
Do you mean something like this ?

https://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/elpages/infinitygripaccess5.php

Paul Dewhurst
10-03-19, 13:18 PM
Ray Allen company most likely are the manufacturers. http://www.rayallencompany.com/products/trimsystems.html

you should have all the details in your aircraft documentation - it was a mod - either in build or subsequently so there would have been supporting documentation. If itís been lost ask BMAA - they should have a copy they can email you. Saves having to be a detective when you need spares..;)

Stubhoy
10-03-19, 15:58 PM
Hi Stubhoy

Thanks for the advice. I had my instructor send me some details as well and it does seem to be a Ikarus C42 so it wasnt newbie advice at all 😀

Garry

Iím all chuffed now!

spuudercat
10-03-19, 16:00 PM
Thanks for the replies I wish I could post a picture. I also think I prefer that last one Paul it looks a lot sturdier than mine. I tend to forget not to push the top sometimes and end up trimming up all the way which can be fun lol

Thanks again for the replies all much appreciated

Garry

Sean Dougan
18-03-19, 12:43 PM
Just thought I'd point out the Ray Allen G205 uses standard micro switches internally. They're SS-5's and you can get industrial grade Omrons from the likes of Farnell and RS for less than a few quid each.
https://uk.farnell.com/omron-electronic-components/ss-5/microswitch-plunger-125vac-5a/dp/103443

Bit better than a hundred plus for a new top.

There are four #0 Phillips screws on the underside of the head for getting at the internals.