PDA

View Full Version : Do you want a chioce?

Bob T
02-05-10, 12:39 PM
As many know there is a huge choice of microlights available to pilots in mainland Europe. Why do UK pilots not have the same choice?
Well if you look at my blog post today, you will see that the European law on free movement of citizens and their possessions is being stifled in the UK.
A BMAA council, made up of people who have interests in the UK microlight manufacturing industry, are not challenging the CAA to allow a microlight which conforms to another European safety standard, to be imported into the UK.
Get over to Blois in September and see what microlights are on the market over here and ask your MEP why you cannot buy one and register it in the UK. You can do that with a car or motorbike, but not a microlight!

spear
02-05-10, 17:40 PM
Ok, here's my 2 pence worth, bearing in mind I'm pretty new to the sport and can only comment on what I have learned so far (apologies in advance).

Define choice?

Are we talking about the 70+ Microlight Aircraft already approved for use within the UK (now that is some choice) or are we talking about relatively new Aircraft to market?

I feel privileged to have met a significant amount of pilots over the last 12 months (more than I can remember), and I can honestly say that on not one occasion has choice, or should I say restricted choice been discussed.

My guess here is that people are happy with current market conditions, and have neither the will nor the interest to "kick up a fuss".

Put plain and simply, they are happy!

Bob T
02-05-10, 17:51 PM
Yes you are correct in that many people won't 'kick up a fuss'.