PDA

View Full Version : Permission for camera ?

Ian P
19-03-13, 23:15 PM
I have a bulletcam Hd video camera for sports etc. I want to know if I need to do a mod for it or as its taken on and off weather I can get away without dong any paperwork etc.
i intend to use it on my F2a, I am a student pilot so keen to look at my flights.

Carl Bayliss
20-03-13, 10:38 AM
If it is attached to the aircraft structure, it requires a mod.

Keveng
20-03-13, 11:06 AM
So if you choose say three locations for the camera does that require three seperate mods or can you cover them all with one mod
Keven

NigelJ
20-03-13, 11:15 AM
What counts as a mount? Would a suction cup type need a mod? Does it only apply to a mount permanently fixed to the aircraft or wouls=d something clamped to the seat frame for example also need approval? I presume that apart from affecting the structure of the aircraft it shouldn't potentially foul controls etc and needs to be secured with a safety strap so the whole lot doesn't fall off.

MadamBreakneck
20-03-13, 11:23 AM
It's under review at the moment, but this BMAA Technical Information Leaflet (TIL) give an idea of teh sort of thing you'll need to think about.
http://www.bmaa.org/files/til017_fit_a_camera_to_a_microlight.pdf

Have fun with it
Joan

Ian P
20-03-13, 14:04 PM
Great reply guys thanks.

Jon S
20-03-13, 19:09 PM
Of course if it's mounted on YOU, then no permission required.
I have a Go pro and I've used it on my helmet - It's surprising how much your head moves around though. I've also used a Go pro chest mount (like a pair of braces with a mount in the middle of your chest) which was much better, but, the viewpoint is a bit low.
I'm planning to have a go at making a shoulder mount, so that it sits clear of the side of my helmet. That might work better for you with a 'bullet cam' than with my GoPro, which sits a bit high.

Gentreau
20-03-13, 19:37 PM
That'll make it a "Parrot mount" then

MadamBreakneck
20-03-13, 19:54 PM