PDA

View Full Version : Matching a panel mount V6 MGL with dipole antenna - P&M trike

Stevepattinson
21-04-13, 14:35 PM
Can anyone help. On the ground with engine not running, my comms are loud and clear, however in the air the tower says it sounds like I am talking into a long tube. Strength is good but this is affecting clarity. I was warned about the high output of a panel mount V6 and a dipole (V Rabbitt) on trike. It could cause RF feedback and/or over modulation. Could either cause this transmission problem and poor reception by the tower?? Reception is fine. Using Microavionics intercom and all settings on radio are correct. All input and feedback would be appreciated.

Tanarg derek
21-04-13, 15:28 PM
I have been running in my trike an V10 radio for many years now, without any problems. Have you fitted ferrite rings to the supply to the radio and on the output cables from the D15 plug, also, have you fitted screened the cables from the D15 plug, the screen goes to ground at the D15 plug end. your problem is RF feedback. Where is your antenna fitted?
May be worth a look at this forum http://www.mglavionicsusers.org/forum/index.php
I hope this helps

Stevepattinson
21-04-13, 17:18 PM
I will check the rf beads and the screening. The antenna is fitted at back of keel. thanks for your help. Are you able to confirm that the "talking into a tube" is RF feedback??

Tanarg derek
21-04-13, 18:12 PM
It might be worth having a look at page 21, third paragraph from the bottom of V6 manual, and V10 manual under title RF feedback- cause and elimination (page 32)

Never route your antenna cable inside a bundle with other wires in your aircraft. Keep your
antenna cable well separated from all other cables.

I hope this is of help

Stevepattinson
21-04-13, 18:22 PM
It might be worth having a look at page 21, third paragraph from the bottom of V6 manual, and V10 manual under title RF feedback- cause and elimination (page 32)