PDA

View Full Version : Things to look out for when buying first flex

Thebreeze
23-07-13, 22:04 PM
Hi folks.
I started training a couple of years ago and had to take a break due to work (or lack of) but am now back in to it and loving it.
I am looking to buy my first flex on a budget of around 6k and Im totally baffled by one thing! (well several really :banghead:)

I understand the differences between the craft and engine options on the craft within my budget but its the huge variation in hours that has me a little stumped. You tend to find a lot around the 5-600 hr mark and a few at 1000hrs +
A recent example I have seen is a lovely looking quantum at around 5k but with over 1000 hrs. Kinda put me off but maybe im just being over cautious

My question is what is the best way to avoid huge bills in the future (i.e. crank replacements, new sail etc) which would probably cost more than the initial purchase price of the plane. Are there any hard and fast rules??

I understand that the basic maintainence will be inevetable but after a few pointers for avoiding the big repair bills.
Having a plane i couldnt afford to fix would be worse than having a packet of fruit pastles i couldnt eat!!

Any advice greatly appreciated.
Many Thanks
Dave

:tux:I just had to use this.....Cool!!

WobbleWing
23-07-13, 23:06 PM
There is always a bit of a gamble when it comes to this stuff.

Best thing to do is to take along an experienced hand. Some high hours models are OK if have been very well serviced /looked after.

For my 2p : a 912 with 1000hrs is not such an issue provided the price reflect this. For a 1000hr 2 stroke I'd be more cautious, but if it's recently had a complete overhaul and crank it may be a reasonable deal.... Others may disagree.

Lots of variables to consider, always best to take along a knowledgeable hand to offer an opinion.

2 strokes aren't mega expensive to repair if you can DIY..., relative to needing a new sail (which you can't really DIY).