Thanks

SHADOW AND SHADOW STREAK

Hi there. This is my first posting.

I'm a PPL A pilot and have realised (as so many of us do) that microlights are great machines that allow mere humans with ordinary sized pockets to fly.

It was the Shadow and Streak that first got me interested in flying and I'm almost ready to buy but I need info.

I'm a big bloke 17st + and I want to fly on my own and with my son - about 7st.

Will I get in it AND will it take off if I do?

I've searched for POH but unsuccessfully. I look forward to hearing from you wise ones.

Thanks

R

Thanks

Re: SHADOW AND SHADOW STREAK

I am not a Shadow pilot but one of the things that you may want to consider is cockpit width. At 17st you're a big lad and the Shadow cockpit is fairly narrow, said to be designed around the size of David Cook who designed and built them and he is a fairly small bloke.
    Also looking at the TADS on the BMAA site the seat weight limits are quite low

http://www.bmaa.org/upload/techdocs/...20and%20DD.pdf

That is not to say that a Shadow would have any trouble getting you off the ground, certainly the C, D and Streak models would have no problem, although a B series might struggle on a hot day.

I think the seat loading issue is more to do with crash loadings to comply with with BCAR section S, the design criteria that all none SSDR microlights must comply with. Having said that it may be worth contacting the LAA as while all factory built Shadows are administered by the BMAA and have to comply with the above TADS (issued by the CAA) some LAA machines, they look after all kit built Shadows, are measured by total cockpit loading rather than individual seat loadings. Worth a try anyway, if you contact their engineering department they should be able to tell you straightaway. Unfortunatly the Shadows are not amongst the TADS published by the LAA, but a phone call should sort that out

Good luck
    Ginge

Thanks

Ginge