Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Co-Pilot Paddy O'Rourke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts

    Moving the Fuse block - Quik

    Has anyone moved the fuse block on a Quik? I'm a short a**e, so front forks are moved back, battery is moved back and therefore the fuse block and all wiring is tucked up really tight behind the panel, only being accessible if i remove the battery first - a real pain.

    So I'm thinking of surface mounting a fuse block on the panel below the instruments for easy access. Has anyone ever done this? what box did you use? was it very hard to do (non techie here), looks easy enough, so long as wires reach, which they should.

    Thoughts and ideas please.


  2. #2
    Co-Pilot Paddy O'Rourke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    Updated. Now looking at fitting circuit breakers in lieu of fuses. Anyone got experience of fitting these?


  3. #3
    Captain Roger Mole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Dordogne, France
    Posts
    1,383
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 177 Times in 128 Posts
    Not in a flexwing but I put circuit breakers in all of the circuits in my Savannah. Much nicer, much neater, much more professional. These are in an overhead panel. All circuits have 10 amp protection and the 15 amp c/b on the right is the 'master' for the whole panel.

    screen38.jpg screen40.jpg nswitch_panel.jpg

    If I could put labels on straight I'd be dangerous....

    I'm in the process if fitting a new 8.33kHz radio and transponder in my main panel. Both need a 3amp fuse and I'll be putting contact breakers above them in the panel. Much better than having in-line fuse holders shoved up behind the panel.

    You can get them for not a lot of money from RS
    Last edited by Roger Mole; 19-04-19 at 12:10 PM.


  4. #4
    Co-Pilot Brian Montila's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    146
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
    This is what I did on mine after some electrical problems.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files


  5. #5
    Captain Roger Mole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Dordogne, France
    Posts
    1,383
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 177 Times in 128 Posts
    Perfect


  6. #6
    Co-Pilot Paddy O'Rourke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    Thanks guys this will be very helpful.

    Brian I like those CBs, they're the same that i have fitted up by the master, be nice to keep the new ones the same. Where did you get them from? (USB ports nice too - where did that come from?


  7. #7
    Co-Pilot Brian Montila's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    146
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
    They are Klixon re settable trips from Farnell I think.
    The USB is a charge4 from jeremy Curtis.


  8. #8
    Training Captain Gentreau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    2,624
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    394
    Thanked 206 Times in 158 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Montila View Post
    They are Klixon re settable trips from Farnell I think.
    The USB is a charge4 from jeremy Curtis.
    Also available from RS Components.
    For example https://uk.rs-online.com/web/c/fuses...m=W57-XB7A4A10
    The three most useless things in aviation:
    • The air above you.
    • The runway behind you.
    • The fuel in the bowser.


    Rule #1: Always tie your aircraft to the largest heaviest object available. The planet Earth meets these requirements and is readily available in all locations.
    Rule #2: The great thing about twin engined aircraft is, if one engine fails, the other engine always has just enough power to get you to the scene of the crash.

    Semper specto in clara parte vitae.

    .


  9. #9
    Co-Pilot Wexfordair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    357
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
    They say 250volt AC. Does that make any difference?


  10. #10
    Training Captain Gentreau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    2,624
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    394
    Thanked 206 Times in 158 Posts
    They are rated at 250V AC and 50V DC according to the data sheet https://docs-emea.rs-online.com/webd...6b812253a0.pdf
    The three most useless things in aviation:
    • The air above you.
    • The runway behind you.
    • The fuel in the bowser.


    Rule #1: Always tie your aircraft to the largest heaviest object available. The planet Earth meets these requirements and is readily available in all locations.
    Rule #2: The great thing about twin engined aircraft is, if one engine fails, the other engine always has just enough power to get you to the scene of the crash.

    Semper specto in clara parte vitae.

    .


Similar Threads

  1. 503 starter fuse
    By kreesne in forum Microlight Technical
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 25-04-17, 11:09 AM
  2. Microavionics Interface V3 - in line fuse?
    By DavidR in forum Microlight Technical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-01-16, 17:14 PM
  3. Air moving
    By chesterflyer in forum YouTube
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-01-15, 19:31 PM
  4. Time for the Cup to get moving!
    By Rick Moss in forum Microlight Forum Cup
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-11-11, 19:53 PM
  5. 7" Moving Map SAT NAV
    By Terry Viner in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-07-10, 23:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •