Thanks

Building an OGN-Rebroadcast station to improve PilotAware coverage

I've just finished building an OGN-Rebroadcast station to contribute towards the OGN (Open Glider Network) and to improve warnings for PilotAware users. This will also help HG/PG pilots get situational awareness via the OGN in order to see FLARM equipped aircraft. It will also allow local PilotAware users to see FLARM equipped gliders, and get directional bearings on Mode-S transponders.

As we all know, Electronic Conspicuity (EC) is a bit of a mixed bag, with technologies that are not compatible.

As a hang glider/paraglider pilot, I'm now flying with instruments that have FLARM (tx only) and FANET, a sort of PilotAware type protocol but for hang gliders & paragliders.

Thing is, none of these technologies see each other, but with things like OGN we get to bridge the gaps. The OGN down-links FLARM and puts it out on the Internet, where I can receive it on a hang gliding/paragliding instrument. Excellent. A PilotAware enhanced OGN-R station takes FLARM, and rebroadcasts it on the PilotAware frequency. It also down-links transponders in Mode-S, so that via multilateration they can become targets with a bearing, whereas before they were just bearingless targets in your area.

Building an OGN-R ground station is easy, and you'll get help from PilotAware with bits at cost if they have to buy them in, or free if not. They will also link to the cheapest source of parts if they can't match it.

The computer you will be building it around is the Raspberry Pi 2B. The whole operating system is a simple download, copy to a micro SD card then boot in the Pi. Set up is minimal and there are detailed instructions. Postie delivered the last of the stuff I needed today, cables and the Pi just before 1400, so I drove to the strip, connected up the aerials and by 1800 there was another PilotAware ground station on the map.