Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 64
  1. #1
    Co-Pilot willjohnh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    497
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts

    Suggestions on radio

    I'm thinking about getting a radio fitted to G-OKEM. I was wondering what I should look to buy as it's not something I've any knowledge about.

    I have a microavonics powered radio interface and a MicroAv ul-100 headset.

    Any suggestions/help greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
    W
    "I thought you were supposed to be flying this thing, not pleasuring it."
    - Paul Gallagher


  2. #2
    Founding Member - See my blog entries for help using the forums VinceG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Centre of the Universe, Morley, Leeds
    Posts
    8,085
    Blog Entries
    12
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 284 Times in 226 Posts
    When you say fitted do you mean actually in the instrument panel?
    Happy Safe Flying
    May your Landings = Your Take Offs
    Vince Gledhill
    Site Admin
    http://www.microlightforum.com
    http://www.greeneru.co.uk to save the planet by changing to LED lights.

    Find help here with various aspects of using the forum in my blog


  3. #3
    spannial X
    Guest spannial X's Avatar
    the nice thing to have is an icom a3e/a22e as you can pre-program them with names. perfect for flexwing flying with gloves on

    the very basic is an icom a2 solid and reliable and you can pre-program 10 memory channels,but a bit fiddly in a flex,have to remove glove to change channel


  4. #4
    Co-Pilot willjohnh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    497
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
    No - nothing so grand. It's a Quik so probably just a hand-held attached to the dash. I see I have a BNC connector ready where the previous owner had a radio so just wondering what I should plug into it. I understand Icom A6 is quite popular but have also heard people favour earlier Icom models and also something from some far off place starting with a V (the radio not the place). Just wondering what the consensus was.


  5. #5
    spannial X
    Guest spannial X's Avatar
    icom a6 and icom a24 are not C.A.A. aproved.
    but the rest of the icom range are


  6. #6
    Co-Pilot Max's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Worcestershire
    Posts
    554
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
    What ever you do don't buy micro-air there crap! Also I don't think that radio's need to be CAA Approved for use in microlights - but someone will be along to confirm this soon.

    Max
    G-CBKF - Easy Raider


  7. #7
    Captain Frank Thorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ince Blundell Liverpool
    Posts
    1,264
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 48 Times in 44 Posts
    Cant get type approval for new radios as those involved have their heads buried in the sand.


  8. #8
    spannial X
    Guest spannial X's Avatar
    yes they do need to be aproved.it is the law of the land.
    if you crash your plane and you have unaproved equipment,your insurence company WILL NOT pay out.

    mico-air transmit at 4 times the power of the best icom.
    micro-air are 4 times the price of the most expensive icom.
    an icom is a hand held and a micro-air is a pannel mount.
    micro-air have a built in interface and no icom has a built in interface.
    you can use a micro-air as part of an ifr set-up.
    you can listen to 2 radio stations at once on a micro-air,no icom have this facility.

    buying a radio is all down to the depth of your budget
    Last edited by spannial X; 13-01-11 at 22:13 PM.

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to spannial X For This Useful Post:

    willjohnh (14-01-11)


  10. #9
    Captain Bob T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,524
    Blog Entries
    3
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    The A6 is not approved for use in Europe, including the UK. I have one laying around here as a ground radio, but I never use it. I fitted the Microair panel mount to my machine and have no complaints at all about it.


  11. #10
    Co-Pilot Max's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Worcestershire
    Posts
    554
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by spannial X View Post
    yes they do need to be aproved.it is the law of the land.
    if you crash your plane and you have unaproved equipment,your insurence company WILL NOT pay out.
    Most of the rotax engines are un-approved for use in aircraft - so this can't be true?

    Also with regard to the micro-air it wouldn't broadcast when fitted in our C42 and was a piece of junk that just wouldn't work properly, quite a few people have had problems, was swiftly replaced with a Funksworks radio which works perfectly.

    Max
    G-CBKF - Easy Raider


Similar Threads

  1. Powered Radio Interface (MM005) powering radio question
    By willjohnh in forum Microlight Technical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-08-11, 23:24 PM
  2. Skegness Forum Flyin suggestions
    By johnny3star in forum Microlight Discussion
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 19-07-10, 19:59 PM
  3. Reading Suggestions
    By Jon S in forum Training
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-05-10, 12:03 PM
  4. Your suggestions please
    By ddudez in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-10, 07:17 AM
  5. Suggestions
    By meggark in forum Microlight Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-02-09, 17:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •